Moroccan Chickpea and Carrot Salad + Announcements

For the last eight years I’ve lived in the attic.  There’s a lot you can do in a finished attic.  For example, when I first moved in, my little brothers and I used to pretend to be superheroes, dress up in capes and jump around on the furniture and into piles of pillows.  The door I wanted never got installed so the boys were a constant presence.  There were also a whole lot of summersaults and juggling and yards of christmas lights to characterize my attic experience.  Lots of clothing everywhere, because, hey, when you’ve got one million square feet you might as well fill it all with clothes.  One almost mural, but we could never decide what it would be of…  Camping out and photo-shoots and forts.  Old photos all over the floor for scrap-books and school project assembly (because 6th grade was all book projects).  I’ve had a room that has been almost like another world, up here in the trees where the light filters in on the weekends and fills every part of the vaulted ceiling with light…

Why am I reminiscing?  Well, we’re moving, and I’m going to the basement.  In fact, we start the physical move on Friday of this week.  It won’t be far, no, not far, barely a mile away.  But what’s so strange for me is that I’ll only be in this new house a year, then it’ll be off to college.  I guess this move is just a reminder that this time in my life is about over.  I’m leaving the house that will for me always be my childhood.

I’m looking forward to the new house though.  It’s by the river, there’s more land, lots of windows, very open.  My room has arguably the best bathroom (my own bathroom!), and I think I may be able to paint a mural this time over in my room.

Not only are we moving though, other changes too have come, specifically to this blog.  Back in January, the BDN had a few videos made of me making a some recipes.  The blueberry gingerbread recipe video is up now on the BDN, but the videos (there are 5 I think total) are syndicated across the country and can be found on various newspaper sites.  Though the recipes for blueberry cake and blueberry gingerbread are my adaptations, the lemon cake and frosting are just gluten-free bon appetit recipes that I love.  The list of newspapers is below:

Eagle Tribune, Andover, MA: http://food.eagletribune.com
Gloucester Times, Gloucester, MA: http://food.gloucestertimes.com/
Newburyport News, Newburyport, MA: http://food.newburyportnews.com/
Princeton Daily Clarion, Princeton, IN: http://food.pdclarion.com/
Bangor Daily News, Bangor, ME: http://food.bangordailynews.com/
Home News Here, Woburn, MA: http://food.homenewshere.com/
Press Tribune, Roseville, CA: food.thepresstribune.com
Auburn Journal, Auburn, CA: food.auburnjournal.com
Colfax Record, Colfax, CA: food.colfaxrecord.com
Loomis News, Loomis, CA: food.theloomisnews.com
Placer Herald, Rocklin, CA: food.placerherald.com
Lincoln News Messenger, Lincoln, CA: food.lincolnnewsmessenger.com
Folsom Telegraph, Folsom, CA: food.folsomtelegraph.com
Ed Dorado Hills Telegraph, El Dorado Hills, CA: food.edhtelegraph.com
Daily Astorian, Astoria, OR: http://food.dailyastorian.com/
Coast Weekend, Astoria, OR: http://food.coastweekend.com/
Chinook Observer, Chinook, OR: http://food.chinookobserver.com/
Seaside Sun, Seaside, OR: http://food.seaside-sun.com/

As to this recipe itself, what have I got to say?  It’s scrumptious.  I made some changes to the original because I don’t have a spice grinder (this is a travesty I know).  Instead of toasting cumin seed and grinding it, I decided to add ground cumin to the olive oil, along with garlic and cayenne to heat up and let the flavors bloom.  This I found to work well, though both options for the dressing are listed below.  Similarly, we were out of dates, and I found that raisins are perfectly acceptable though I assume, dates, figs, or pluots (the original suggestions) are even better.

Moroccan Carrot and Chickpea Salad
Adapted from 101 Cookbooks

Serves 6

Dressing:
1/3 cup olive oil
2 cloves garlic, sliced thinly (can be used or not depending on your method with the cumin seeds)
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1 Tablespoon cumin seeds or 1 Tablespoon ground cumin
1 Tablespoon honey
2 Tablespoons lemon juice

Approximately 1 pound carrots, grated
About 2 cups cooked chickpeas, or chickpeas from a 15-ounce can
2/3 cup raisins, or chopped figs, dates, or pluots
1/3 cup roughly chopped mint

Toasted sliced almonds to serve

For the dressing you can do either of two things.  One, you could toast the cumin seeds for a minute or two, than grind them and add then to other ingredients (sans garlic).  Or, you could heat the olive oil, garlic, cayenne, and ground cumin over medium heat in a saucepan for a few minutes then remove it and let it set aside.  You want to make sure nothing burns but also that the spices have bloomed. Once cooled a little you could whisk in the honey and lemon juice.

In a decent sized bowl, toss together the mint, fruit, carrots, and chickpeas.  Then, add in the dressing and toss again.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Serve with toasted almonds.

This entry was posted in Archives, Dinner, Lunch, Salad and tagged , , by Madeleine C.. Bookmark the permalink.

About Madeleine C.

Hi I'm Madeleine and I am an avid cook and baker! Between school, homework swimming, and everything else in my life, I really enjoy cooking! I am 15 (now 16) years old, and have two brothers, both of whom have celiac disease along with my father. For this reason, I often make gluten-free things that will satisfy them as well as those who can readily consume gluten. I enjoy making the complex and the simple, and enjoy a challenge while cooking. That's just about it!